"Variable Galactic Gamma-Ray Sources (IV)"

Rikkyo University (Tokyo), July 4-7 2017

Main Topics

✔High-Energy Processes in Compact Sources
✔Variable non-thermal emission in Galactic Sources
✔Numerical simulation of Binary Systems


Valenti Bosch-Ramon (Barcelona University), Yasunobu Uchiyama (Rikkyo University)
Pol Bordas (MPIK, Heidelberg), Dmitry Khangulyan (Rikkyo University)


This fourth edition of the VGGS workshop (see Heidelberg 2010, Barcelona 2013, Heidelberg 2015) will be focused on the study of gamma-ray binaries as well as on the physics behind the Crab Nebula gamma-ray flares. We intend to gather people actively working in these fields and discuss the present and future challenges that new observations, numerical simulations, and theoretical modelling are posing. The workshop will last for four days, from July 4th to July 7th 2017, with extended discussion sessions at the end of each day.
The format will be similar to the previous meetings: modest size, quite informal, and very much discussion oriented. As in past editions, there will be no proceedings.

Invited Speakers

Felix Aharonian (MPIK Heidelberg/DIAS Dublin), Maxim Barkov (Purdue University), Michaël De Becker (Université de Liège), K.S. Cheng (University of Hong Kong), Maria Chernyakova (UCD Dublin), Teddy Cheung (Naval Research Laboratory), Robin Corbet (NASA GSFC/UMBC), Evegny Derishev (IAP RAS, Nizhny Novgorod), Daniela Hadasch (ICCR, Kashiwa), Kenji Hamaguchi (NASA/GSFC), Masa Hayashida (Chuo University), Amir Levinson (Tel Aviv University), Maxim Lyutikov (Purdue University), Gernot Maier (DESY, Zeuthen), Benito Marcote (JIVE, Dwingeloo), Josep Marti (University of Jaen), Maria Massi (MPIR, Bonn), Atsuo Okazaki (Hokkai-Gakuen University), Barbara Olmi (Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory, Florence), Josep Maria Paredes (Universitat de Barcelona/ICC), Olaf Reimer (Universität Innsbruck), Marc Ribó (Universitat de Barcelona/ICC), Gustavo Esteban Romero (UNLP/IAR-CONICET La Plata), Edoardo Striani (INFN Torino), Makoto Takamoto (University of Tokyo), Takaaki Tanaka (Kyoto University), Yohko Tsuboi (Chuo University), Masaki Yamaguchi (University of Tokyo), Roberta Zanin (MPIK, Heidelberg), Yasuharu Sugawara (ISAS/JAXA)


to be updated soon...

Workshop Venue

The workshop will take place at Ikebukuro Campus of Rikkyo University

campus access map

Additional Information

✔The fee will amount ¥10,000 and is to be paid in cash upon arrival. This fee will cover the coffee breaks and some minor spendings.


If you intend to participate in the workshop, please register. (Please fill the form and click on the "Submit" button)

First name * Family name *

Affiliation *

E-mail Address *

Do you intend to present a contribution?

Title (optional)